top of page
Search
  • Viveful

3 Effective Secrets That Will Make You Soar in Your Career or Business

Updated: May 3, 2021

Feel like your career or business is going nowhere? Here's three sure fire secrets from a female leader in a Fortune 100 company. These secrets are guaranteed to make you soar in any field.



Aesthetic green, gold, and gray design that says '3 Effective Secrets That Will Make You Soar in Your Career or Business' with bird and computer screen graphics in the background
3 Effective Secrets That Will Make You Soar in Your Career or Business

1. Have some daily goals


I start out every morning organizing my thoughts.


I start off thinking about the day before. I think about 'What did I do yesterday? What am I going to do today? And what are the things that can hinder me from reaching my goals today?'


That's what I brew over every morning—with a cup of coffee.




2. Seek to solve root problems


One of the things a person can do to advance their career is to focus on asking root questions.


When I started asking deeper questions, I found my career to be more fluid. I found that I garnered more knowledge from that than focusing on what I perceived to be the right answer.


When I focused on asking the root questions, I was able to deliver better content to my team. A company is like a tree with many branches. And many of a tree's problems can be traced back to its roots, so make sure you're always asking root questions and seeking to solve root problems.




3. Position yourself to negotiate


Negotiation skills are super important.


That's a skill that will always need to be improved upon. Many women are afraid to be assertive because it might come across as rude or overly aggressive.


But there's nothing wrong with negotiating. It's okay to reach towards fair agreements! It really is! Here's some invaluable advice from Judge Judy, a seasoned negotiator.


"Whether you become a secretary or an assistant in a dental office, if you make yourself irreplaceable to the dentist, you're irreplaceable... you make reasonable demands consistent with how indispensable you are. And if you believe that you're totally indispensable, then you say 'These are what I think is fair.' And I think that that's an important word. I don't think that you're supposed to take advantage of somebody financially just because you can. I think that your reputation is supposed to be 'She's a tough negotiator. She only asks for two or three things. They're more than most or more than all, but what she's asking for is not unfair.' "

—Judy Sheindlin

Lawyer, Judge, TV Personality, Owner of Queen Bee Productions, Author


Have some daily goals, seek to solve root problems, and position yourself to negotiate. These are effective secrets that will help you soar in any field or business!




WANT MORE SECRETS that will help you soar in life?


We're always getting expert advice from some of the most inspiring and brightest characters in the world of biz, health, music, and lifestyle.


We share expert tips and insider secrets through Viveful mobile magazine. Viveful is a quick and valuable read that will help you throughout your life and career/business journey.


Sign up for a free lifetime subscription. And as a bonus, you'll also get lifetime access to courses that will teach you how to sharpen your digital skills, come up with great brand names, collaborate with influencers, and more!


by Colleen Tyler

Software developer at a Fortune 100 company, Navy veteran, agile practitioner, and multitasking mom


38 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page